»

Family Fun

There is lots going on for children and families at Mill Green Museum and the Roman Baths. This is especially true during school holidays when there are many drop-in workshops for children aged 4+.

Adults are not forgotten with frequent craft demonstrations and special event days at the weekends. With limited parking at Mill Green, we encourage visitors to consider using the bus service - there is a bus stop at the top of the footpath that leads to Mill Green.  It's better for the environment and children love catching a bus for a day out!


Children's Activities

All activities suitable for age 4+. Sessions last for one hour. No booking required - just come along - but please come at the start of the session as you will need a full hour to make your creations. There are also activities at Welwyn Roman Baths.  For more information Contact Us

Easter School Holiday

DateActivityDescriptionCost

Tuesday 7 April

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Food, Glorious Food

Foodie art and craft

£3 per child

Wednesday 8 April

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Clay Food

Make a clay model of your favourite food

£3 per child

Thursday 9 April

Come along between
10.00am and 12.00noon or
1.00pm and 3.00pm

Bake A Spiced Bun

Bake a Spiced Bun

£1 per piece of dough

Tuesday 14 April

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Grain, Glorious Grain

Make a stunning grain picture

£3 per child

Wednesday 15 April

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Clay MillCreate a clay model of the mill£3 per child

Thursday 16 April

Come along between
10.00am and 12.00noon or
1.00pm and 3.00pm

Bake a Bread RollBake a Spiced Bun£1 per piece of dough

 

May Half Term Activities

DateActivityDescriptionCost

Tuesday 26 May

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Ancient Egyptians

Make an amazing Egyptian collar

£3 per child

Wednesday 27 May

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Create a Cartouche

Create your very own cartouche - and practice your hieroglyphs

£3 per child

Thursday 28 May

10.00am, 11.15am,
1.15pm and 2.30pm

Clay Mummy

Make a clay model of a mummy - and a sarcophagus to put it in

£3 per child

 

Craft Demonstrations

Date

Demonstration

Demonstrator

Sunday 19 April

Corn Dollies

Jane Woodman

Sunday 26 April

Love Spoons

John Adams

Sunday 3 May

Barn Engine and Friends

Michael Albon

Bank Holiday Monday 4 May

Spoon Carving

Ralph Hental

Sunday 10 May

National Mills Weekend
The National Mills weekend is the annual festival of our milling heriatge.

Corn Dollies
Patchwork
Wood Turning





Jane Woolman
Rae Fairbairn
Colin Smith

Sunday 17 May

Natural Decorative Arts

Rae Fairbairn

Sunday 24 May

Love Spoons

John Adams

Bank Holiday Monday 25 May

Handmade Jewellery

Kathryn Parratt


Sunday 31 May
 
Encaustic PaintingJohn Hazelwood
Sunday 7 JuneSpinning ,Weaving and Dyeing
West Essex & East Herts Guild of Spinners, Weavers & Dyers
 
Sunday 7 JuneNational Volunteers Week
This is an opportunity to find out more about volunteering for the Museum Service at Mill Green Mill and Museum.  Displays of the valuable work undertaken by our volunteers
 

Saturday 14 June

Wood Turning

Colin Smith

Sunday 21 June

Chair Caning

Brian Tott

Sunday 28 June

Love Spoons

John Adams

Sunday 5 July

Chair Caning

Brian Tott

Sunday 12 July

Barn Engines and Friends

Michael Albon

Sunday 26 July

Handmade Jewellery

Kathryn Parratt

Sunday 2 August

Natural decorative Arts

Rae Fairbairn

Sunday 9 August

Welwyn Bee Keeping Association

Various

Sunday 16 August

Love Spoons

John Adams

Sunday 23 August

Quilting

Christina Colewell

Monday 31 August

Wood Turning

Colin Smith

Sunday 6 September

Handmade Jewellery

Kathryn Parratt

Sunday 27 September

Spoon Carving

Ralph Hental

Sunday 4 October

Welwyn Bee Keeping association

Various

 

Toddler Mornings 10.00am - 11.30am

Join us once a month for our relaxed and fun packed toddler workshops.

  • Listen to stories
  • Make something together
  • Visit the Mill and Museum
  • Drink and biscuit provided
  • Coffee or tea for adults

Dates are:

  • Thursday 26 February Pop up Puppets
  • Thursday 26 March  Easter Fun
  • Thursday April 30 Yellow Ducks

Cost £3.00 per toddler (includes entrance to mill/museum). NO booking required - just come along. For more informationContact Us


Special Event Days

During the year a number of special events are held at Mill Green Museum.  Details of these events are on our Special Event Days page.


Lots More Things to Do with Your Children in Hertfordshire

Days Out with the Kids This link opens in a new browser window 







MillGreenLogo Displays a larger version of this image in a new browser window

Mill Green blog - for latest info

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on twitter

Contact Information


Powered by GOSS iCM